July-December 2000 12 New Cities Created
FS#1 Series of 2001

During the second half of the year 2000, thirteen municipalities were converted into twelve cities in different provinces in the Philippines. As a result of these conversions, the number of cities as of December 31, 2000 totaled to 96 while the number of municipalities decreased to 1,513.

Other changes in the same period include the creation of two barangays, re-inclusion of one barangay and the renaming of another barangay. The newly-created barangays are Bgy. Casiklan, Las Nieves, Agusan del Norte, Caraga and Bgy. Datu Macarimbang Biruar, Parang, Maguindanao, ARMM; Bgy. Quezon, Busuanga, Palawan, Region IV was reinstated while Bgy. Camboayon, Las Nieves, Agusan del Norte, Caraga is renamed Bgy. Eduardo G. Montilla. The number of other local government units such as the regions and provinces remained the same.

Municipalities Converted into Cities  New Cities
1. San Jose del Monte, Bulacan, Reg. III City of San Jose del Monte
2. Balanga, Bataan, Reg. III City of Balanga
3. Muņoz, Nueva Ecija, Reg. III  Science City of Muņoz
4. Masbate, Masbate, Reg. V City of Masbate
5. Bacon, Sorsogon, Reg. V }
6. Sorsogon, Sorsogon, Reg. V }
City of Sorsogon
7. Talisay, Cebu, Reg. VII City of Talisay
8. Bayawan, Negros Oriental, Reg. VII City of Bayawan
9. Maasin, Southern Leyte, Reg. VIII City of Maasin
10. Digos, Davao del Sur, Reg. XI City of Digos
11. Koronadal, South Cotabato, Reg. XI City of Koronadal
12. Tacurong, Sultan Kudarat, Reg. XII City of Tacurong
13. Bislig, Surigao del Sur, Reg. XIII Caraga City of Bislig



  Email the Webmaster E-mail the webmaster Terms of Use Home • Top of Page  

PSA CVEA Bldg., East Avenue Diliman, Quezon City, Philippines
Telephone no. 462-6600 loc. 839; E-mail: info@psa.gov.ph