Philippine Standard Geographic Code (PSGC)

Concepts and Definitions

Urban/Rural Classification

In the Philippines, “urban” areas fall under the following categories:

1. In their entirety, all municipal jurisdictions which, whether designated chartered cities, provincial capital or not, have a population density of at least 1,000 persons per square kilometer: all barangays;

2. Poblaciones or central districts of municipalities and cities which have a population density of at least 500 persons square kilometer; 

3. Poblaciones or central districts not included in (1) and (2) regardless of the population size which have the following:

  • street pattern or network of streets in either parallel or right angel orientation;
  • at least six establishments (commercial, manufacturing, recreational and/or personal services);
  • at least three of the following:
    • a town hall, church or chapel with religious service at least once a month;
    • a public plaza, park or cemetery;
    • a market place, or building, where trading activities are carried on at least once a week;
    • a public building, like a school, hospital, puericulture and health center or library.

4. Barangays having at least 1,000 inhabitants which meet the conditions set forth in (3) above and where the occupation of the inhabitants is predominantly non-farming or fishing.


All poblaciones or central districts and all barrios that do not meet the requirements for classification of urban.